Regional School Unit 40

Linda Pease, Principal of Medomak Valley High School, announces new staff members for the 2018-19 school year.
Jessica Severson, Ed Tech, Zach Melvin, Math Teacher, Matt Carlson, Assistant Principal, Alison Fongemie, JMG, Karen Willey, Ed Tech.
Sitting:  Sheila Libby, LEAD Teacher, Lindsay Ranquist, Ed Tech and Cathie Jack, English Teacher.  Missing from the photo:  School Resource Officer Chief Bill Labombard.

At the annual Medomak Valley High School Academic Awards ceremony on Tuesday evening, the Mathematics Department awarded the first annual Payson Prize to sophomore Gabrielle Keene of Waldoboro.  The prize honors the Math Team Top Scorer for the entire season.  This season Gabby earned a total of 98 points, edging out junior Mackenzie Bickmore (79 points) and senior Rose Hickey (73 points). 
The prize is named in honor of Neil Payson who is retiring this year after 41 years of service to Medomak Valley.  Mr. Payson was on hand to help award the prize and received a standing ovation from the audience for his incredible commitment to generations of students. 


Neil Payson, having taught mathematics for 41 years at Medomak Valley High School was recently honored at a student of the month assembly with a speech delivered by his granddaughter, junior Julia Payson,  in celebration of his upcoming retirement.


Front:  Rebekah Marks, Megan Wright, Colby Willey, Maddie LaFrance and Haley Wyllie.
Back:  Garrett Geroux, Brent Stewart, Logan Wheeler, Caleb Savage and Haley Bedenik


Front:  Valedictorian Danica Juntura and Salutatorian Adrianna Wadsworth
Back Row:  Somerset Ganz, Abigail Nelson, Abigail Williams and Rose Hickey

Jr's Madelyn White, Lydia Simmons, Peter Alexander, Joey Horovitz and Nicholas Hill
will represent Medomak Valley High School in June at Girls and Boys State.  Delegates will learn about the democratic process and government simulation in elections for local, county and state.  Thank you to Waldoboro Legion Charles Lilly Post #149, Waldoboro Lion's Club and Rockland American Legion Auxilary for their sponsorship.



Student Council members from Medomak Valley High School
Sitting--Sadie Cohen, Brent Stewart, Colby Willey, Danica Juntura, Adrianna Wadsworth, Lydia Simmons
Standing-- Michaela Staples, Jason Holbrook, Isaiah Staples, Natalie Stewart, Zack Cheesman, Greyson Clark, and Joseph Horowitz




The English Language Arts Department wishes to congratulate all of today's speakers who participated in the Philbrook Speech Competition.  
Honorable Mentions go to
Sadie Cohen, Noah Munn, Ellie Shelmerdine and Maddy White
3rd Place goes to Lydia Simmons, 2nd Place goes to Joey Horovitz and 1st Place goes to Elizabeth Flanagan

Freshman Class Officers
Sitting- Hamish Bodine, President and Eliza Nelson, Vice President
Standing- Natalie Stewart, Secretary, Troy Knight, Historian and Kylie Moody, Treasurer.

Sophomore Class Officers
Chloe Blake, Historian, Gabe Allaire, Treasurer, Sadie Cohen, President and Kayla Donlin, Vice president.  Missing from the photo Secretary, Gage Seavey.

Jr. Class Officers
Elias Miller, Historian, Amos Hinkley, Vice President, Greyson Clark, Treasurer and Madelyn White, President.   missing from the photo Secretary Talia Willis

Senior Class Officers
Standing:  Maddie LaFrance, Treasurer, Colby Willey, Historian, Samantha Pelkey, Secretary.
Sitting:  Brent Stewart, President and Danika Juntura, Vice President

Employee Area 1070 Heald Highway Union, Maine 04862 | Phone: (207) 785-2277 | Fax: (207) 785-3119